What’s your first impression of Ubuntu?

November 3, 2007 at 3:21 am 4 comments

For those of us who are new to Ubuntu/Linux, please describe your first impression of Ubuntu. Tell us about your experience!

Please write by adding a comment.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Photoshop Alternative for FREE. GIMP 2.4 is out!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ed  |  December 17, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    i first tried 6.10 then 7.04 then 7.10 an like them all better then windows. I must warn people it is not ready for the average computer user yet. I personally think not for at least 2-3 yrs yet
    I was lucky I know a little about computers.it does take a some knowage to set everything up. as the instructions on a lot of it a a little vage. a new user should buy a dummy book to help them through it. As for me i loved the challange figurering it out on my own. as for the operating system it is the best i have ever used. i have been using windows sense wi 3.1 on flotty disks.

  • 2. Suhail  |  January 30, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Same as ed I tried 6.10 first. I was very impressed, but what kind of peeved that the grub wrote over my MBR. Then I got 7.04, and was thoroughly disappointed. Gutsy Gibbon has serious stability issues, even with native applications like firefox which crashes every hour or so, and driver incompatibilities (mainly nvidea cards). Got rid of it for Vista (believe it or not) a long time ago. Hate this new OS too.

  • 3. Leo  |  March 7, 2008 at 4:50 am

    I have been using Ubuntu 7.10 since around November. I am driving my girlfriend nuts. Perhaps I am a little over enthusiastic about Linux…

    So far I have had a very positive experience with Gutsy. I ran it on an old IBM Thinkpad A30, then on my new Dell Insperion 1520 when the motherboard died on the IBM. (I am going to cannibalize that laptop to make a Damn Small Linux file server eventually. Maybe I’ll make a blog of the project.)

    Sure there have been little snags and snafus with Ubuntu… (currently my reboot and shutdown buttons in the exit are missing because of a GDM snafu) but over all I can’t complain. It has been very easy to set up, and use. It nearly works right out of the box, though there are a few things to tweak. Adding the restricted drivers was one of the first things, adding flash and the libdvdcss2 are just below that in importance. (The sound card is touchy on the Insperion 1520, and needed the backports enabled in the repo sources, but that isn’t a major hassle.)

    Leo

  • 4. David F. Doler  |  April 30, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    My first experience with Ubuntu was a pleasant surprise with version 7.10 just this past week.
    I had purchased a refurbished HP Slimline s3220n PC with Vista Home Premium installed. It worked okay and was attractive, but it let me down when I tried to use TurboTax on it. So I resolved to brain wipe it and install XP Pro sp2. Long story short, that attempt failed, and the HP s3220n would not allow me to reinstall Vista. I was stuck with a “doorstop”.
    Then I thought I would just see if Ubuntu 7.10 would boot up on what would otherwise be a useless computer. IT DID, and it detected my network, my DSL modem, my drives, my graphics card, EVERYTHING. I don’t know who put all those driver files in there, but they certainly did not miss any that I needed.
    Now I’ve got the upgrade 8.04 installed and running fine. I will never touch VISTA again.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome!

Hi, Welcome to my Experience Ubuntu blog. In this blog, I will be testing out some of the best open source softwares available in Ubuntu. I just want to share my experience with everyone.

Comments Are Welcomed!

Comments are important to me, please leave a comment if you can, thank you.

Blog Stats

  • 6,704 hits

Recent Posts

Archives

Pages


